Wednesday, 19 May 2010

Scarlet - Preview

Phew, Marvel are squeezing out some shiny titles from their Icon imprint aren't they?

Conceived as a new home for creator-owned stuff by writers and artists with whom Marvel have a strong relationship, Icon initially started with a new volume of Powers and new issues of Kabuki, of sorts.

Then came some nice stuff from J. Michael Straczynski (Dream Police and The Book Of Lost Souls) and Ed Brubaker's Criminal and Incognito series.

Icon made a huge splash with Kick-Ass and, of course, now we have Nemesis (issue #2 is now due June 10th). Matt Fraction is also bringing Casanova back for a new series under Icon.

Well, there's a new title joining the stable - Scarlet!

From Powers creator (and Ultimate Spider-Man, Daredevil and Avengers legend) Brian Michael Bendis. Illustrated by Spider-Woman and Daredevil artist, Alex Maleev, here is the solicitation text plus the covers for issue #1.

COVER BY: Alex Maleev
WRITER: Brian Michael Bendis
PENCILS: Alex Maleev
THE STORY: THE AWARD WINNING, BEST SELLING, POWERHOUSE CREATIVE TEAM BEHIND DAREDEVIL, HALO, AND THE AVENGERS UNLEASH THIR BOLDEST PROJECT YET! SCARLET! This is the comic experience of the year! The first creator owned series by one of the most successful teams in all of modern comics. Scarlet is the story of a woman pushed to the edge by all that is wrong with the world…A woman who decides to stand up and fight back…A woman who will not back down…A woman who discovers within herself the power to start a modern American revolution!! In the vein of Alias, Powers, and Jinx, Scarlet debuts a fascinating new comics character that, with every issue, reveals new things about herself against a completely original backdrop of intrigue and drama. Get in on the ground floor of the first creator owned series by Bendis since Powers, and the first creator owned series by Maleev…ever. (and, yes, the trademark obnoxious Bendis letter column will be here too)

Here's a link to an interview Bendis did with

If you want it, drop me a line and place an order with Proud Lion today.

Ben Fardon is thinking this bio piece at the end is too long. So here's a shorter one.

No comments:

Post a Comment